EBU, A.S.O. conclude agreement for 2016-19 cycling events

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and Amaury Sport Organisation (A.S.O.) have announced a new agreement that sets out the conditions for broadcasting A.S.O. cycling events for 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.

As well as the Tour de France, the agreement covers the Paris-Roubaix, Liège–Bastogne–Liège, Flèche Wallonne and Paris–Tours classics, and the Paris-Nice, Critérium du Dauphiné and Critérium International stage races.

The agreement is said to ensure these races will reach the widest possible audiences via EBU Members’ terrestrial networks in Belgium (VRT, RTBF), the Netherlands (NOS), Switzerland (SRG, RTS, TSI), UK (ITV), Spain (TVE), Italy (RAI), Denmark (TV2) and Norway (TV2), among others. They will also be broadcast by Eurosport’s pan-European network, which is watched by sports fans in more than 60 countries.

Alongside the television broadcast, all channels will show these events on a variety of digital media, through live web streaming, mobile applications and social networks.

This partnership with the EBU comes shortly after A.S.O. signed new agreements with France Télévisions during the 100th Tour de France until 2020. France Télévisions will manage the television production of the international signal from these events, with the exception of the Flèche Wallonne and Liège–Bastogne–Liège, where RTBF will be responsible.

EBU director general Ingrid Deltenre comments: “A.S.O. cycle races, and the Tour de France in particular, are extremely important to our Members and their viewers. As cycling’s flagship event the Tour has been a key element of the EBU’s sports rights portfolio many times over the years, and we’re proud to continue this tradition as the race moves into its second century. Crucially, this contract ensures the race can be seen on our Members’ free-to-air channels until 2019.”

Subscribe and Get SVG Europe Newsletters