Aurora and Little Dot are on air for Formula E season

The partnership of Aurora Media Worldwide (AMW) and Little Dot Studios have been commissioned to create a new global lifestyle series for the FIA Formula E Championship following a competitive tender process. Formula E Street Racers is hosted by Sian Welby and consist of 25 half-hour programmes throughout the race season. It follows the all-electric motor racing Championship around the world focusing on drivers, future technologies, gaming and new electric car reviews, as well as revealing what goes on in host cities away from the track.

The series is distributed to international broadcasters around the world including the UK broadcaster Channel 5, who recently acquired the rights to live broadcast the 2016-17 Formula E season, which began in Hong Kong on October 10.

Lawrence Duffy, Managing Director at AMW, said: “We’re delighted to be extending our relationship with Formula E with this innovative new series. Its magazine format allows us to combine the best in race and consumer content with showcasing the manufacturers’ increasing investment and advances in electric motor technology.”

Andy Taylor, Chief Executive of Little Dot Studios, added: “By commissioning a show built from the ground up to work on TV as well as across social video platforms, Formula E has again shown its commitment to innovation and a young audience, and we’re pleased to be a part of it.”

Ali Russell, Director of Media at Formula E, said: “The combination of Aurora and Little Dot is a perfect blend, bringing together huge amounts of expertise in traditional broadcast media and the burgeoning digital sector. Together they will take an innovative approach to commissioning and content usage. We have been delighted with the creative vision they have shown to deliver a programme that will broadcast to more than 400 million homes across the world.”

Earlier this year AMW and Little Dot Studios won the Best Content Partnership and Best Digital Programme Support prizes at the Broadcast Digital Awards. Formula E and AMW, host broadcaster of the Championship since its inception in 2014, also won the BT Sport

Subscribe and Get SVG Europe Newsletters