Formula 1 announces four additional races for the 2020 season

Formula 1 has announced four additional races for the 2020 season, taking the total to 17.

It has now been confirmed that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season, which suffered a delayed start in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Discussing the latest announcement, Chase Carey, chairman and CEO at Formula 1, said: “We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain  and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season. This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible. While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”

The latest races added to the 2020 calendar are as follows: the Turkish Grand Prix (13-15 November), the Bahrain Grand Prix (27-29 November), the Sakhir Grand Prix (4-6 December) and finally the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (11-13 December).

Formula 1 has commented that while it wants to see as many fans as possible return as soon as it is safe to do so, it’s priority remains the safety of the Formula 1 community and the communities we visit, and it reviews fan access on this basis. However, a number of races will be open to a limited number of fans to enjoy, as things slowly begin to return to normal after the height of the pandemic.

Subscribe and Get SVG Europe Newsletters